Sign in to follow this  
SmccarthyPT

Veneer before countertop? Bad idea?

Newbie here and WOW this forum has been so valuable in this project for creating an outdoor kitchen! I've been lurking around and reading as much as I can and truly appreciate all the time and sharing of knowledge here.

First time working with metal so was a bit of a learning curve but ended up really enjoying that process and flexibility. So far I've got framing done and rough wiring in. Ready to to start putting up the cement board. My dilemma(s):

1) I've been a bit 'scared' to try a pour-in-place concrete countertop as I didn't want to end up messing up the finishing touch and I've had friends highly recommend doing it in forms and transporting. Just seems like it would be SO nice to have it all there in one big slab. I've seen both ways on here but never having done that, any thoughts?

2) I was considering putting up the veneer (eldorado stone) prior to the counter mainly because my friend is in town for a weekend and has done lots of this stone/veneer work and could help me. Seems like most are doing the countertop first though. Wondered if I could do veneer first if I worked it right up to my estimated overhand for the countertop?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on this...

Cheers,

Steve

post-28501-0-12088200-1434747926_thumb.jpg

Nice work!

I built my ODK last year (journey documented here: http://www.troublefreepool.com/threads/63645-Outdoor-Kitchen-Build-Kansas, and looks like something similar to yours as far as build - steel studs / concrete counter tops.

I had never worked with either before this project and had a blast doing it. I was very happy with how things turned out. I also was considering pour in place countertops, but ultimately decided to go with casting and moving, and I was glad that I did. For me, the reasons for going with cast and move were: