Welcome to the New Upgraded BBQ Source Forums. Please let us know if you have any issues with the new site, we will be customizing it for a while to get it looking as sharp as ever. 

Thanks,

Bluesin

grillman20

Portable Grills???

9 posts in this topic

Im somewhat new to grilling and currently trying to find a new propane powered, portable style grill for tailgating and picnicking. I was looking for something under $300 that would best suit me when Im traveling with it and of course able to cook good food!

I was curious to know if any of you guys had experience with portable grills, and if there are certain features I should look for in a portable grill before I buy one. Any advice or insight would be very helpful. Thanks!

Best thing going is one of the Weber Q models. Cook like a dream, made very well and hold up like nobody's business.

Hmmm, time back we had quite a discussion going on this subject. But it seems like when this site updated we lost tons of useful info from back in the day... :( Guess we'll just have to start over again. Meanwhile, I'll have to get together some photos of my portable unit which has worked well for me. Made by Grillware, it is a 12,000 BTU tabletop grill that works great for our needs - small enough to bring along but large enough to cook for six - eight people. The small propane bottles made life easy! Another member (Shelly) used an infrared unit that seemed to be great - I'll also have to find out which that one was. I believe his as well as mine are both smaller than the Q - but it all comes down to how big of a crowd you tailgate with.

Check back later. Sorry for not having all the info ready - thought I'd just link you to the past posts but they are now gone. Sigh..

mike

thanks guys, i appreciate it! Im still looking around but we'll soon be making a decision soon. If you think of anything else let me know. thanks again!