BBQ Source Forums: Confused about lava rocks & ceramic briquettes - BBQ Source Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Confused about lava rocks & ceramic briquettes

#1 User is offline   impulse22281 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 19 June 2010 - 05:48 PM

Hi everyone, I figured since this is my first post, I might as well embarass myself....I just bought a grill. Originally I bought a Master Forge from Lowes, but after coming on here and seeing the terrible reviews it had, I returned it before using it, and got a Ducane 4100 from a grill place nearby.

My question...I'm totally new to grilling...everything that I read mentions that gas grills normally come with lava rocks or ceramic briquettes. I'm pretty sure that my grill didn't come with either. All it came with are these metal triangle shaped shields above the burners. Should I be buying lava rocks or ceramic briquettes before I start cooking? Can someone please spell it out for me?...LoL....

Attached thumbnail(s)

• Attached Image: ducane.jpg

#2 User is offline   raceman 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Grill Masters

Posted 19 June 2010 - 06:55 PM

Nope your fine ....fire it up
2007 Jenn-Air 720-0142 with added sear burner
22 1/2" Weber Kettle
Char Griller Pro

#3 User is offline   Tubby's Smokehouse 

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Interests:
    Smoking/Grilling, Construction, Cross Country Racing, Billiards, Drummer.

Posted 19 June 2010 - 07:41 PM

View Postimpulse22281, on Jun 19 2010, 03:48 PM, said:

Hi everyone, I figured since this is my first post, I might as well embarass myself....I just bought a grill. Originally I bought a Master Forge from Lowes, but after coming on here and seeing the terrible reviews it had, I returned it before using it, and got a Ducane 4100 from a grill place nearby.